Sozai Saishu 11

Chapter 11: Detection with Magic Stones

Between Ferumi Village and the forest lying far in the south, an enormous plain sprawled as far as the eyes can see. I can see the thick forage of the forest behind this grassland, but apart from that, I can’t see anything or anyone else.

A sprawling grassland, spreading towards the horizon. That’s all there is.

A perfectly clear, blue sky combined with a green carpet below is beautiful.

Once the wind blew past, the stalks of grass brushed against each other and made a ‘Saa, saaa’ noise, reminding me of sea waves. My face was also tenderly caressed by the winds.

“This is the first time I’ve seen a scenery where a grassland seems to go on forever…”

Back in Japan, places like this probably exist in the countryside, farms, or Hokkaido. I’ve never seen one in real life though, only through TV or movies.

Having experienced it myself now, I can feel the grandeur of Mother Nature accompanied by an intense sense of freedom.

Strolling alone in a meadow like this one is enough to make me wonder if I’m the only human on Earth.

“Since there’s no one around, maybe I should practice some magic.”

Even if I have Detection, when I enter the forest, I may still encounter dangerous monsters. I should be skilled enough to handle the powers I received from God for simple self-defence. 

If it’s here, no matter how flashy my magic is, there won’t be any damage to others.

For Fire Magic, if I miscalculate the scope even slightly, this field will probably burn down. On the other hand, that is when Water Magic will come in handy in extinguishing the fires.

Furthermore, God did teach me some tips on how to better handle magic. I don’t think I will mess up horribly now.

Let’s start with Fire Magic Fire.

It is a convenient spell to ignite embers by creating a small flame. If you can turn this small flame into a sphere and shoot it out, it will become the spell Fire Ball.

Alright, let’s get down to it.

The image the manual wanted me to visualise was too vague so decided to generate my own.

An image of firewood being lighted by small flames. A soft flame like that is what I’m aiming for.

Finally, the most critical part has come. Magic control.

Inside my body resides the residual magic power from God. Even if I say “residual”, it still originated from an entity that manages an entire world. It is enormous for me.

I must use only a little bit of my magic power to ensure that the spell doesn’t go berserk.

Feeling the energy deep inside my chest, I imagined it as a faucet which I turned it by only a minuscule amount, allowing only the required power to flow through the pipe. With that, I activated the spell!

“Fire!”

What rolled out was a flame, big enough for cooking with Flambé.

It gradually became bigger and bigger, and the grassland in front of my eyes caught fire and was quickly reduced to ashes.

“This is too much, too much! Err, Water!”

With the current speed of the fire spreading, the grassland will be burned away in no time. That’s why I used Water Magic in haste.

In front of me, a rapidly growing mass of water formed. Similar to a small tsunami, it rolled out and wiped out all the fire.

Yup. I increased the amount of magic power by 1 or 2 degrees since I wanted to distinguish the fire, but to think the scale would be this different.

“This Elementary Magic is definitely not ‘elementary’ in any way…”

I used to fight with magic in various online games before, so this clearly isn’t the level of elementary magic. It should be at the Advanced level, or even higher.

Well, I can’t use this carelessly in self-defence then.

Anyway, it seems like I can’t practice Fire Magic on my way to collect materials in the forest. I can see the future of a burnt down forest if I do.

Burning down a forest filled with the treasure known as materials is something I definitely do not wish for.

Fire Magic requires a lot of practice.

In that case then, what magic should I use in its place for self-defence? Fire Magic is out of the question, and I don’t have confidence that Water Magic will be able to kill opponents.

Wind Magic can apparently call forth strong gusts of wind and wind blades. ‘Strong gusts’ is a bit vague, and I can’t visualise wind blades cutting down anything else but trees.

Turning the pages further, I discovered Ice Magic in the practical uses section.

“Oh, Ice Magic might be a good idea.”

Ice Magic can be used to freeze and stop opponents in their tracks, which will let me defeat them. Also, even if I mess up the scale, the worst thing that could happen is freezing. It gives me some sense of security.

Ice Magic seems to be built upon Water Magic, and it is difficult to cast spells without water in the vicinity.

However, ice naturally existed back in my previous world and since I experienced a lot of games and anime, I can conjure an image of Ice Magic easily.

Visualizing water freezing over, I squeezed out even less magic than before.

“Freeze!”

Then, within the radius of 5 meters from where I was standing, everything froze over.

Freeze is a spell to chill or freeze small items, however, the results are over the top as always.

On the other hand, compared to spells that would burn or flood an entire section of land, Ice Magic is much easier to use. With this, it will probably be okay to use if I encounter any monsters in the forest.

Nonetheless, I can only use magic that would affect my immediate surroundings. I need to learn more about how to control the scope and power, and be able to shoot it somehow.

Until I reach the forest, let’s continue to practice Ice Magic.

A short while after that, while single-mindedly practicing Ice Magic all the way, I arrived at the forest in the south.

According to Roland’s experiences, Full Moon Flowers will be growing in sunny places.

First, I will need to search for sunny locations.

I want to move out immediately, however, there is something I need to try first.

That is to use Detection with magic stones as the keyword. Is it possible to detect monsters with the magic stones that were harvested from them? If it is, I will be able to perceive every single monster within range of my magic waves. I would feel greatly appreciated if that was the case.

I took the magic stone I received from Podan-san out of my Magic Bag.

Set ‘magic stone’ as the keyword in Detection. Now then, will Detection give me any responses?

Half praying, I used Detection and sent my magic waves flying.

“Magic Stone, Detection!”

Then, several glowing outlines of monsters and their magic stones appeared in my sight. They were all purple.

“Ohh, I can see something!”

A turtle-like animal standing completely still, a weasel-like thing scurrying around in the forage. A giant worm creeping about. And, a silhouette I saw before back in Lakia Forest, a Horn Rabbit.

“Since I can see a Horn Rabbit…. Now, what I’m seeing are all monsters!”

I was right! Detecting magic stones also allows me to perceive the ones inside the bodies of monsters!

It has been proven in this moment.

It was awesome being able to search for monsters using their parts, however, deep down I still wanted to be able to detect all monsters.

With this knowledge, I will be able to detect monsters no matter where I am.

Apart from collecting materials, I can now evade dangerous monsters with all of my abilities accurately.

I am truly glad I thought of this possibility and tried it out. With this, I can throw myself even more into collecting ingredients than yesterday.

If I go straight as I am, I will run into the Horn Rabbit. So, let’s detour for a bit.

While I was walking, I became curious after seeing the loitering monsters and looked down at the magic stone I had in my palm.

The one I received from Podan-san had a blue outline, but the monsters in this forest had a purple outline.

I guess it means that the stones inside these monsters are not of high purity?

The magic stones with a purple outline, and the one in my hands glowing blue.

I do want to intently examine the difference, but the goal today is not magic stones, it is the Full Moon Flower. I am interested, but let’s prioritise searching for the Full Moon Flower.


Hi all. This is Peach Knight, the translator.

Since I have ran out of stocked chapters, I will be posting once every 2 days.
Thank you for reading!


Previous | TOC | Next

3 thoughts on “Sozai Saishu 11”

  1. “I increased the amount of magic power by 1 or 2 degrees since I wanted to distinguish the fire, but to think the scale would be this different.”
    distinguish –> extinguish
    A different meaning, actually.

    Like

Leave a comment