Sozai Saishu 9

Chapter 9: God’s Misunderstanding

“What in the world is going on with my magic……”

After enjoying the dinner Anna-san and the rest entertained me with, I returned to my room and flopped onto the bed.

I never expected the spell I believed to be the safest like a Light Ball would turn out like that. Did I mistakenly cast something that wasn’t elementary magic?

No, I did everything according to the Elementary Magic Manual. It is impossible for me to have cast anything higher than that.

I do want to try casting it again, but I won’t know what to do if that kind of power was released again.

I still don’t know if I can use Fire Magic or not, but I feel that it would’ve turned into a troublesome situation if I tested that one out. I am glad I went with the safer Null Magic option.

I want to inspect much more about magic, however, since I don’t know what can happen, it will have to wait until I can find an isolated, unpopular location.

I should, in theory, be able to practice harmless spells like Light Ball. However, even that turned out to be quite a spectacle, so I’ll refrain for now.

The sun has set and darkness has descended. Since I had a delicious dinner, I’ll turn in early for the night.

Tomorrow, in addition to searching for the Full Moon Flower, I’ll keep an eye out for an unpopular location to practice magic as well.

Pondering about those things, I closed my eyelids gently.

“Eh? This place is……”

As soon as I opened my eyes, it was a scenery I remembered. A vast space, where the sky spread out in all directions. Even though it looked like the sky, a ripple spread out from my foot when I took a step forward.

This is the place where I met God after I died.

“Hey there, it seems like you safely reached a village by using the powers I gave you.”

A voice called out to me and I turned around to face the source, there stood God who looked exactly the same as before.

There’s only one reason why I am meeting him now.

“Is it, am I already dead?”

“It is true that you met me before because you died but, that’s not the case this time. Since you successfully completed your first day in this world, I thought I should see how you’re doing. So, I called your consciousness here while you were sleeping.”

I felt relieved upon hearing God’s words.

So that’s why. I thought I met him because I died again.

“And how was it? Having lived through one day in another world.”

“Since I saw lots of mysterious materials, it’s wonderful!”

The forest I was sent to in this different world was overflowing with materials. They were all things I didn’t recognise.

When using Appraisal on materials, I get surprised every time I learn of its name and its uses.

Also, the materials in this world are always in high demand.

As I have the skills God gave me, I can earn a living by only collecting and selling materials.

To be able to live by collecting materials; what an ideal world for me.

“I-is that so? In any case, for you to have taken a liking to my world makes me glad as a God.”

After I finished my passionate speech over the greatness of this world, God answered me with a wry smile.

“By the way, do you have any concerns over your livelihood in this world?”

Ah, he forcefully dragged the topics away from my materials monologue. Since he is being kindly worried about me, I will let it slide.

If it’s something I don’t quite understand, then it would be the incident that happened just recently.

“Actually, I tried using some magic from the Elementary Magic Manual that you prepared for me, however the magnitude was completely wrong….”

I am referring to the Light Ball that I cast before coming here. I told him about how it suddenly burst into a blinding light that illuminated the entire village.

“Ahh, that certainly was elementary magic, but the scope will greatly differ depending on the magic power of the caster. But, wasn’t that what you wished for?”

“Eh, what do you mean?”

Hmm? Certainly, I did wish for a power to collect materials. However, I definitely have no recollections of asking for this broken ability that allows me to release such powerful magic at the elementary level.

I have a feeling that my wish and what God grante to me is somehow out-of-sync.

“Hmm? The one who wished for the ability to leisurely collect materials was you, correct? Therefore, in order for you to be able to leisurely collect materials from the majority of monsters that exists here, I adjusted the specs of your body――”

“Please wait a moment. The materials you are referring are the ones from monsters?”

“Yup, that’s right. Before I gave you your powers, I investigated the game MonMonHunter that you liked to play. Since you had to defeat giant dragons for materials, I made it so that even here, you will be able to take down monsters of that level with ease.”

After asking to make sure, God nonchalantly gave me an answer that was way out of the bounds of my imagination.

“No, it’s true that I liked that game but! What I love more than defeating dragons is to gather medicinal herbs and grasses growing in nature, and to head to mountains and mine ores that are necessary for making items such as armour! To even think of requesting such an absurd  power to leisurely defeat dragons is…..….”

Since my skill was oddly convenient, I had a hunch that God strived to understand what I wished for before creating my skill for me.

However, to even recreate this aspect for me is something completely out of my expectations.

“Even if you say that. The world you’re living in right now is filled with dangerous monsters. Isn’t it better to have the means to keep yourself alive?”

What I wanted was power enough to let me run away from monsters, not a power to defeat any monster I come across.

Rebuilding my body, transferring my soul, granted me skills and also gave me tools. I am filled with gratitude towards God, so I am not in the position to complain.

“That’s certainly right. Sorry, I was surprised over my own powers.”

“I also misunderstood so there’s no need to apologise.”

I was halfway complaining there, but God paid no heed and easily forgave me.

Not only was he kind, but his heart was also very forgiving. As expected of God.

“Regarding your magic power, there is still residual mana inside you from when I used your body as a magic catalyst, and that is why you have an absurd amount of magic. Although that fact was already a given, I also slightly adjusted your aptitude to make it easier for you to use magic as well.”

“I-I see.”

God used my body as a catalyst to slowly transfer magic power into this world. In order to do that, he reconstructed my body and used it to contain his magic. Even if the residual is nothing more than a mere drop of his magic, but to an ordinary human, that is in fact tremendous.

“By the way, the reason why the magnitude of your elementary spell was off is because you poured in too much magic power. If you insert the appropriate amount of magic into your image, the spell will operate normally. You will need practice though.”

Simply speaking, it was like me pouring a bucket of water into a cup.

In that case, it was inevitable for my spell to have been completely out of scale.

To conclude, it is essential to use the correct amount of magic power with a suitable image.

Turns out I can use magic, but I will need to repeatedly practice. If I use it unskillfully, I may actually cause a great disaster by accident.

“If you have any other questions, then you better ask now, okay? After you completely assimilate into this world, a God like me wouldn’t be able to contact you as easily then.”

Now that he mentioned it, God did say that he can’t interfere excessively with his world.

It means that I may not be able to meet him ever again, or that it will be in the very distant future.

Presently, at the very least, I need to comprehend the scope of my abilities.

Therefore, I asked him questions about the powers he gave me.

Then, unfortunately, the time for my significant talk with God came to an end.

“…….Time’s up huh? I don’t know when we will meet again, but do enjoy your life in this world, alright?”

“Yes, thank you very much for all the things you have done for me thus far. I will enjoy my life in this world.”

After bowing my head with gratitude, God gave me a satisfied smile. Then, everything within my sight turned white.


Previous | TOC | Next

2 thoughts on “Sozai Saishu 9”

Leave a comment