Sozai Saishu 17

Chapter 17: Aiming for the Next Material

Two days later. Podan-san gifted Sanaria-san with the Full Moon Flower without any problems.

Sanaria-san seemed to be extremely elated for receiving a rare flower for her birthday, and she came to personally thank me later.

Until now, I’ve been collecting materials for my own sake. It was the first time I collected something for someone else, and they were very pleased about it. It made me happy for them too.

Even without the Full Moon Flower, I doubt their relationship will have cracks between them. However, since it made their day a good day, it was for the best.

My daily life afterwards was a mix between chilling in the village and going out to collect materials in the forest. On certain days, I also practiced magic.

I went back and collected every single material I neglected during my search for the Full Moon Flower.

Of course, as a collector maniac, I want to properly pick up any materials I haven’t picked up yet. Completing collections is the absolute basics.

While on the road, I sometimes practiced Elementary Magic, sometimes widening my Detection range, and sometimes took notes about materials.

I did what I loved freely at Ferumi Village every day, and just like that, half a month passed.

Today as well, I am bringing the materials I collected to Podan-san’s store.

“Hoho, Goggogi. So there were materials like this in the nearby forests.”

“Yup, it looks like the root of some tree, however, it contains a lot of nutrients and can be used to make medicine as well.”

This ‘Goggogi’ is a plant that looks like Japanese burdock. [1] Detection gave me a response from underground so I tried digging it up.

“My Appraisal also told me the same things! I’m glad the village has access to another edible material!”

I’ve never seen this material appearing on our dining tables even once, so I assumed that no one knew about it. Apparently, I was right. Nobody knew that it was edible.

It’s buried deep in the ground, and it looks just like an ordinary root.

It’s understandable why the villagers never noticed that it was edible.

It probably tastes like Japanese burdocks though. I’m looking forward to eating it in a soup back at the inn.

“Iya~ Thanks to Shuu-san who brought in so many materials, this village’s meals have become much more varied. Thank you very much.”

“No, you don’t need to go that far. I picked these materials and brought them in as just a hobby after all.”

Improving the food situation of the village or making their lives better weren’t my intentions at all.

I bring my materials here to sell, to hear his impressions, and to debate about it. Just satisfying my wants.

That’s why I am not worthy of Podan-san’s gratitude.

“I harvested lots of these and I’m planning to sell a few. How much will you give for it?”

“Hmm, it’s difficult to say. Since it’s never been acknowledged before, I do not know how to set the price.”

The most troublesome part that accompanies trying to sell a new material is how to determine its price. If it’s something that has existed for a long time or something that is acknowledged in nearby areas, then a market price would be available. For new materials, something like that does not apply.

“……In times like this, I want Shuu-san who collected this material to name the price….”

“Ahh, in the end, it’ll be like that?”

What Podan-san said is not wrong. However, this material may become the next hot item here at Ferumi Village.

If I name a high price now, people will curse me when they want to buy it in the future.

However, since I brought it in, I can’t just dump the decision to Podan-san.

“I found it underground and it took some time to dig it out, so shall I charge 5 bronze coins for one piece then?”

“I see. Since it can be made into medicine, it can be charged slightly higher, but if you say that price is good, then I will set the price to be 5 bronze coins per piece for now.”

I want the villagers to be able to try and taste new materials.

However, if it’s priced as a high-class item, then people won’t buy it. A slightly cheaper price is good because it will make villagers want to splurge on it.

“Yes, I don’t mind. If I sell these Goggoris elsewhere, I will use this price as a reference.”

“Thank you. By the way, it seems like you’ve harvested all the materials in this area already, right?”

“That’s so. I’ve harvested most of the materials I can reach with a carefree walk.”

I harvested these Goggoris in the mountains deep in the eastern forest.

I used Detection to avoid monsters while diving in, however, an ordinary person would’ve taken half a day to reach that location.

At this point, I don’t think there are any locations left that I can reach easily on foot.

“I think it’s time to move to a different place soon.”

“You’re not someone a small village can hold after all. Surely, your decision will be for the best.”

Bringing materials to sell to Podan-san like this has hit its limits, it seems.

Plus, I want to see more, touch more, and harvest more materials.

Since I’ve completed the collection for this area, the next step is obviously moving to a new area.

“Tomorrow morning, I think I will leave this village and head to a city.”

“I understand. At that time, my wife and I will……”

Thus, that was how I decided to leave Ferumi Village.

Returning to the inn, I told my benefactors: Nico, Roland, and Anna-san that I was leaving on a journey.

“Eeehh!? Shuu-san, you’re leaving tomorrow!?”

“Yup, I want to see lots and lots of materials after all.”

“Ehh, stay longer! If you’re gone, my household income will drop a lot!”

I was feeling quite regretful, but the reality that came out of her mouth crumbled away all of my regrets.

“Instead of being lonely, you’re worried about your income…..”

“I was joking! I’ll be lonely when you leave!”

As if saying, “Don’t go,” Nico grasped the hem of my shirt.

This time, it seems like she’s feeling lonely for real.

“Hey, Nico. Don’t trouble Shuu-san that much. Since he’s a traveller, it’s obvious he has to continue travelling.”

“I know~”

Reacting to Anna-san’s remarks, Nico grumbled back a bit.

Can I take her response as a sign that I’m being regarded as a good Onii-san by Nico?

I’m way happier than her not giving me a response at all if I told her I was leaving.

“And, where are you headed next?”

“I’m aiming for a large city closest to here, Grantel.”

“In that case, there’s an Adventurer’s Guild there, and various materials are available in the mountains and forests around that area. It may be the most suitable location for you who are skilled in collecting materials.”

I heard that there’s a mine as well. It seems to be a place abundant with materials.

I want to try searching for unseen ores and crystals too.

“Well then, to wish a good journey for Shuu, tonight we feast!”

“I agree. I’ll prepare an especially extravagant dinner for you.”

“Thank you very much!”

As if to shake off the sorrowful mood, Anna-san and Roland announced such words brightly. I am frankly grateful.

An unexpected traveller who dropped by out of nowhere, and to go as far as to treat me this well… As I thought, this village is very comfortable.


Translator’s Notes

  1. Gobou in Japanese.
    Read more: https://shizuokagourmet.com/2011/02/15/japanese-vegetables-1-burdock-rootgobou牛蒡/

Previous | TOC | Next

2 thoughts on “Sozai Saishu 17”

Leave a comment