Sozai Saishu 16

Chapter 16: Request Completed

After returning to the village with the Full Moon Flower, I headed to Podan-san’s general store first.

“Welcome. Ara, a face I haven’t seen before. Could you be Shuu-san who’s been staying in the village recently?”

Entering the general store, I saw that the person at the counter wasn’t the usual Podan-san, but a graceful woman sporting a gentle smile instead.

“Yes, that’s correct. Nice to meet you, I am Shuu. Could you be Podan-san’s wife?”

“Yes, my name is Sanaria.”

As I thought. Sanaria-san is Podan-san’s wife.

She should be around Podan-san’s age, but she still looks young. I kind of understand why Podan-san wanted to send her a Full Moon Flower now.

“Oya, Shuu-san. How can I help you today?”

Speak of the devil. Podan-san just came out of the inner room.

Well, we can’t possibly discuss the Full Moon Flower in front of the soon-to-be recipient of the birthday gift.

“About the loaned magic stove, I became interested in it. Do you have other types? I want to browse them slowly, see.”

“Ahh, I see. In that case, our inner room contains other varieties so please come in.”

I stressed the part where I loaned the magic stove, and it seems like Podan-san understood my meaning and urged me inside.

The room I was guided into was a smaller lounge, complete with sofas and carpets, giving off a comfortable atmosphere.

Urged by Podan-san, I sat down on a sofa.

However, he didn’t approach me and went back to the shelf behind him to search for some items instead.

“Please wait a few moments. My wife is probably preparing tea.”

I see. Since there’s a possibility that she will come in with tea, we should discuss it afterwards.

Podan-san put down things similar to magic stoves on the table, probably as camouflage to fool Sanaria-san.

I am interested in seeing other magical stoves for real though.

“If you’d like, please feel free to look at these magic stoves.”

“Then, I won’t hold back.”

On the table, there were stoves like the one I have, bulkier ones, and ones that were more compact.

The smaller ones were probably useful for boiling water, however, for me who owns a Magic Bag, I’m not interested in the benefits of a compact stove.

In the end, I want to buy another one like the one I have.

Normally, Podan-san would give me explanations or recommendations while I am looking at his goods, but today he is fidgeting and can’t calm down.

Did I find him a Full Moon Flower? Podan-san probably wants to know the answer already.

“Excuse me, tea is ready.”

After looking at the stoves for a while longer, a knock sounded on the door and Sanaria-san came inside.

If we had started talking about the Full Moon Flower right after we came in, this would be when we will be busted.

What was offered to me was a cup of tea, similarly colored like Japanese green tea.

“I can smell a faint, refreshing mint scent.”

“Yes, this tea was made from boiling dried mint leaves after all.”

I see. So it’s something like Mint Tea.

After drinking one gulp, the refreshing taste was unexpectedly mild.

“Ah, this is easier to drink than I expected.”

“If you bite fresh mint, it will be spicy, but if you dry and boil it, it will become milder.”

Hee, I didn’t know that. This kind of information may come out if I specifically asked Appraisal for it, but I don’t usually do that anyway.

Even for materials, people will still use them in varied ways, huh?

“We can also use mint leaves to remove the smell from meat and――”

Getting into the talk about mint leaves, Sanaria-san talked about it to me happily.

For me, it is very helpful being able to learn about the uses of mint as tea or as a herb in cooking. However, Podan-san who is anxiously waiting to ask about the Full Moon Flower is pitiful.

“Now then, please take your time.”

After a while, maybe she was satisfied with her explanation about mint leaves, Sanaria-san left the room in a good mood.

“I’m sorry, my wife sometimes won’t stop talking if she gets started…”

“I don’t mind. I got to learn about how to use mint leaves too.”

“Thank you for that. Now then, about the material in question, how was it?”

“I found it, the Full Moon Flower.”

To Podan-san who asked with uncertainty, I grinned and answered him with a smile, bringing the Full Moon Flower out from the Magic Bag.

With a shocked gaze, Podan-san then examined the flower carefully.

“Oooh, there is no doubt that this is the Full Moon Flower! Shuu-san, thank you very much! This will be the perfect gift for my wife!”

Holding the Full Moon Flower preciously, Podan-san bowed his head deeply.

I underestimated the intensity of his response, and am now feeling a bit shameful.

“No, you also reduced the price of an expensive magic tool for me too.”

“Even so, this is not something you can buy with just money. That’s why I am sincerely grateful to you.”

Well, it certainly was a material I couldn’t find even after firing volleys of Detection. An ordinary person would’ve taken much longer to search for it.

What I should display right now is not modesty, but the response a material collector accomplishing his request should say.

“You’re welcome.”

 ◆

“Welcome back, Shuu-san. How was it today?”

After receiving my remuneration of 3 gold coins from Podan-san, I returned to the inn from the general store. There, Nico came out to greet me with a smile.

“It was perfect. I found it and gave it to Podan-san properly.”

“I see! Congrats! But, you already gave it to him huh….”

Nico was a bit disappointed.

Seeing her like that, it became apparent that she must have wanted to see the Full Moon Flower too.

Nico was there when the request was made, so maybe I should’ve shown it to her too.

While I was worrying over what to do, Anna-san came and rubbed Nico’s head.

“Now, now, don’t be so dejected. We can just ask Sanaria-san to give us a look later, right?”

“Un, I’ll do that!”

Nico nodded strongly and went to wipe the tables in the dining hall.

Well, it’s not like the Full Moon Flower will disappear.

If we go to the general store after Sanaria-san’s birthday, I’m sure it’ll be displayed there.

The light of the Full Moon Flower will last for one week, so the beauty won’t lessen so much.

“Sorry for troubling you like that.”

“No, it’s my fault for not being considerate enough.”

Nico was really interested in the Full Moon Flower back in the general store too. I could’ve dropped in to have her take a look for a bit first.

“Now, your stomach is probably empty after returning right? What do you want to eat today? I can also cook using the materials you collected!”

“Ah, in that case, I have this meat I want you to cook for me!”

“Meat, is it?”

It was a coincidence, but I did get my hands on an edible ingredient.

I led Anna-san to the courtyard and took the Blue Grizzly ice sculpture out of my Magic Bag.

“Gyaaaaaaaaa!? Wa-wait, Shuu! You!”

At that moment, Anna-san let out a loud shriek.

H-hmm? Is this thing that surprising?

“W-what happened?! Anna!”

“Mom!? Wait, uwaah! It’s a huge Blue Grizzly!”

Hearing Anna-san’s uproar, Roland came out from the kitchen, and Nico followed after him from the direction of the dining hall.

“What? What?”

“It can’t be, did a Blue Grizzly appear!?”

Ah, this is becoming a bigger scene that I thought. It was too late to realize that though.

Maybe the screams of these three resounded too much, the neighbours also shuffled over to take a look.

Hearing screams unsuited to this peaceful village, it can’t be helped that people are curious.

After explaining for almost an hour, I managed to bring the situation under control. Anna-san and Roland got mad and told me not to bring out something like this so lightheartedly.


Translator’s Notes

I decided to keep Japanese exclamations like “Ara”, “Oya”, “Hee” and so on as they are. I think it sounds better this way.


Previous | TOC | Next

One thought on “Sozai Saishu 16”

Leave a comment