Sozai Saishu 32

Chapter 32: Apprentice Alchemist

Since it was a big and well-stocked store, it was very popular. However, since they intentionally mixed in poor quality products and the alchemist there also told lies to drive down the buying price, I’m evaluating them as the worst. 

For me, I would never enter that store again in the future.

I will tell Mia truthfully that it’s not a trustworthy store.

Now then, I now understood that the store I had high hopes for was no good.

The other Alchemist Shop I know of is the one in the west.

According to Mia, the store was “cosy”. Furthermore, Their product lineup couldn’t be called good, even as mere lip service. Plus, their staff wasn’t that friendly.

Honestly, not a single aspect of that store sounded reliable. However, the previous one sounded reputable but was horrible in the end.

There are no other Alchemist Shops that I know of, so let’s go take a look.

Deciding so, I recalled the directions Mia told me and headed West.

“Hmm, was it around here?”

Looking around, there were only private houses.

Comparing this street to the one in front of the inn or the Adventurer’s Guild, it was narrower and there were fewer pedestrians. Much more peaceful.

I could see women hanging laundry in their gardens while children were running around chasing each other.

This area was different from the central business area and seemed to be a wide residential area.

She said that if I walked around this area I could see the signboard, but I can’t seem to find such things.

If I could find an easy-to-understand symbol, it would make my life very easy. However, this certainly was a residential area and I couldn’t see any signs…

The gazes from the ladies inside their gardens are starting to hurt me because I’ve been roaming around for a while now.

They definitely see me as a suspicious person.

“Excuse me…”

“No! I’m not a suspicious person, I’m just looking for an Alchemist Shop!”

Called out by someone, I spouted out a hasty excuse and spun around to face them.

A young girl with long, wavy blonde hair with big, blue eyes who looked around 15 years old stood there.

Her skin looked as delicate as silk.

Her good looks and her caring gaze gave me an impression of a gentle and proper lady.

A white blouse, a light blue ribbon, and her navy skirt; her choice of clothing accentuated her beautiful blonde hair even more.

In a residential area like this, I didn’t remotely imagine meeting someone this beautiful.

“Are you looking for an Alchemist Shop?”

I snapped back to myself after the girl in front of me asked a question.

I am far older in mental age. It’s a bit stupid to be stunned when you see a girl who looked like a high school student.

Breaking out of my stupor, I calmed myself down.

“Yes, I was looking for the store to sell my materials. I was told by an acquaintance that it was around here…”

“Ahh, it’s quite difficult for first-time visitors to find the store for the first time.”

“Do you know where it is?”

“Yes, I’ll guide you. There’s only our store around here after all.”

“Oh, that helps–wait, ‘our’?”

I tilted my head reflexively at her words.

“I am known as Lumia. I’m still an apprentice alchemist, but I’m working in the store.”

She smiled a bit shyly while introducing herself as an apprentice.

“I see! I’m Shuu, an adventure. Please kindly lead the way.”

“Yes, leave it to me!”

Lumia smiled happily and started leading the way.

Even if the items in the store are doubtful, I would be willing to come visit often when there’s such a cute girl here.

“About alchemists, how do you become one?”

On the way to Lumia’s shop, it would be too awkward to have no conversation so I asked her a question.

What kind of occupation is an alchemist anyway? If someone can create potions with some kind of tool then can that person call himself an alchemist? Can everyone become an alchemist then?

“First of all, to become an alchemist, you need to acquire a skill called Alchemy.”

“If you don’t have the Alchemy skill, you can’t make potions?”

“If you have the required materials and tools, you will be able to make the potions. However, it is very time-consuming and to produce enough to make a living is….”

In other words, you can’t earn enough to make a living without the skill.

I also have Detection and Appraisal, so I understand how convenient skills are. My efficiency in collecting materials is completely different with and without using them.

“Since you’re an apprentice alchemist, does that mean you also have the Alchemy skill?”

“Yes. However, I acquired it only recently…”

I heard from Rabis that apart from having them since birth, skills can be acquired later in life through continuous efforts.

Lumia-san seemed to have put in tremendous work to acquire this skill.

Since I was transferred here, I felt a little guilty because I received my skills effortlessly from God.

As if to gloss over those feelings, I congratulated Lumia on her skill acquisition. Having heard that, she smiled happily.

“Since you’ve acquired the Alchemy skill, does that mean you’re a pro now?”

“I haven’t passed the national examination for alchemists yet, so I can’t call myself an alchemist.”

Apparently, to become a full-fledged alchemist, it is necessary to pass the national examination and be officially recognized by the country.

The process seemed more structured than I imagined. It’s a difficult road to trek.

Actually, being an alchemist here could be similar to being a civil officer like in my previous world. It seemed to be quite an elite job.

It feels a bit weird when I realized that the alchemist man I met before coming here also passed the national examination.

“Oh, we’re here. This is the shop I am training at.”

After talking about alchemists to pass the time for a while, we arrived at the store Lumia was working at.

The shop stood right there, blending in with the other houses inside this residential area.

It was slightly larger than the other houses. It doesn’t stand out, so if you miss the small sign on the road, you’ll pass by.

“Here you go.”

Lumia opened the door, and I followed her inside.

The inside wasn’t that spacious, however, the wooden walls and counters gave out a calming atmosphere.

Potions were neatly lined up on the shelves, and a light blue female underwear was hung from the ceiling.

“Eh? Underwear?”

The moment I said so foolishly, Lumia, who was next to me, collected it with a speed that I could not follow with my eyes.

“Ah, ahahaha. Excuse me. Please kindly wait for a moment.”

Lumia’s face glowed bright red and she smiled at me awkwardly. She then immediately disappeared into the back room.

“Mou! Safie-san! Didn’t I tell you to stop hanging laundry inside the store!?”

“Isn’t it fine? We don’t have customers anyway.”

“A customer is here to sell materials! And he’s a man!”

For the time being, the doors were closed, but it wasn’t soundproof. Lumia was agitated, so I could hear their conversation here and there.

The culprit who hanged the laundry inside the store seemed to be the person inside and she could be Lumia’s master too.

I could understand why Lumia who seemed so graceful was being so loud when faced with this situation.

“Of all things, why is my underwear――”

Oh, that light blue underwear was Lumia’s?

Unintentionally, my mind conjured up an image of Lumia wearing that underwear automatically.

It’s quite awkward to have seen the underwear of someone I’ve just met.

It is not good to eavesdrop, so I diligently observed the inside of the store while ignoring the conversation I sometimes heard.

The shelves contained bottles filled with mysterious materials and tools that I can’t fathom what they can be used for.

What is this round ball used for? I’m interested but I don’t know what will happen if I touch it carelessly so I stopped myself from reaching out.

Certainly, the number of items may be fewer than the previous store, but there are a lot of products being sold already.

When I appraised the potions, they were all displayed as high quality.

Yeah, at least I think it’s more trustworthy than the one I went to.

“I’m sorry, my master is a bit busy at the moment. Shall I appraise the materials for you instead?”

When I looked into Lumia’s eyes, I could see an apologetic expression on her face, screaming, “I’m just an apprentice.”

Even though she’s still an apprentice, she’s properly learning how to become an actual alchemist and she has the skills for it. Plus, she has a gentle personality and can be trusted.

“No problem.”

“Thank you! I will prepare tea, so please take a seat here for a moment.”

Replying so, Lumia smiled with relief and headed inside to prepare some tea.


Previous | TOC | Next

4 thoughts on “Sozai Saishu 32”

Leave a comment