Sozai Saishu 30

Chapter 30: Nominated Request Completed

After collecting all the requested materials, I returned to Claus’ store to deliver the materials.

“Excuse me, I’m the adventurer Shuu.”

“What is it? Did you have more questions about the materials?”

After knocking on the door, perhaps because he was free this time, but Claus came out promptly.

“No, I came here to deliver the requested materials.”

“What? All of them?”

“Yes, 3 Yamadokoro, 7 Kikyou flowers, and 10 Kurtz fruits, correct?

“……..First, I’ll check them out so come inside.”

After I pulled each material one by one out of the Magic Bag to show him, Claus led the way to the inner room with a difficult face.

As usual, he’s making the same “Shut up and follow me,” stance, I’ll do what he wants and follow him obediently.

Entering the meeting, Claus and I sat down on the sofa.

“I would normally serve you some tea, however, the Kurtz fruits will deteriorate so I won’t waste any more time. For now, show me the Kurtz fruits first.”

“Since the Kurtz fruits are stored inside my Magic Bag, they won’t deteriorate over time.”

“What you’re holding there is a Magic Bag?”

Claus looked at me suspiciously, so I pulled out a barrel that would never fit inside a normal bag to show him.

As a result, Claus looked at me with a stunned expression.

Since it’s impossible for an entire barrel to fit into an ordinary shoulder bag, he had no choice but to believe me.

After a while, Claus came back to his senses.

“I won’t ask why you have it, but it’s more valuable than you think. You should not show it off carelessly. Bad fellows may come to snatch it away.”

Claus gazed at me with his sharp eyes and gave me advice.

I wrote it off as one of the gifts from God so I didn’t pay much attention to it, however, this bag seems to be much more valuable than I previously perceived it as.

In fact, I’ve been living in this world for a while, but I’ve never met anyone with a magic bag.

【Magic Bag】

A bag that can store things. Since the time is stopped inside, the collected materials will not deteriorate. However, it cannot contain humans or creatures.

It was created after extended efforts from the highest-ranked magicians and alchemists, so it is extremely pricey. Seldomly appears on the market. Possessed by some head merchants, high-ranking nobles, and royalty.

O-oohh, when I used Appraisal with the goal of more information in mind, I discovered that it was more valuable than I expected.

Certainly, if an F-rank adventurer possesses such an item, it would be reasonable to feel suspicious.

I know the convenience of a Magic Bag firsthand.

According to Claus, it would be better not to show it to anyone apart from trusted people.

“Thank you for your advice. I’ll be careful in the future.”

“Ah, you do that. Well, it’s good to know that I can request for Kurtz fruits without feeling any reservations in the future from you. However, let’s see the quality first.”

Claus told me to show him the materials, so I lined up Yamadokoro, three-petaled Kikyou flowers, and Kurtz fruits on the table.

By the way, the Kurtz fruits here are the red-ranked ones as per the request.

“No way, for you to have collected all of them in a day. Perhaps you already have them in possession?……. Nah, that ignorance wasn’t an act.”

I have a feeling that something cruel and rude was being said about me, but I’ll keep quiet as he’s an important client.

Claus put on gloves and lifted each of the materials to check from various angles.

“….I’m surprised. Everything is perfect. The staff at the Adventurer’s Guild urged me to try requesting you, so I thought I’d give it a try. This is beyond my imagination. Your collection speed, on top of that, the quality of these materials collected using the correct method. Apparently, your skills seem to be the real deal.”

Claus, who was prideful all this time, praised me with a gentle expression.

I am very glad that I was acknowledged by him because I know how he usually acts.

“Thank you. However, it was thanks to Claus-san’s encyclopedia that I was able to collect the materials smoothly this time.”

“I- is that so! That’s because it’s the information that I and my father have put together over the years. Naturally, it’s useful.”

O-oh? Claus looks happy. This is the first time I have seen such an innocent look.

He seems to deem the encyclopedia that he worked on with his father as very important, and I think he was happy because I praised it.

“Oops, if I talk too long, the Kurtz fruits will deteriorate.”

Claus, who had been talking about the encyclopedia for a long time, suddenly returned to his senses.

Since I probably won’t have a chance to chat with him after this, let’s ask him now.

“Ah, I have a question regarding the Kurtz fruits. Would you accept ones with even higher quality than these?

“What? Higher than these? Show me.”

Since he said so, I brought out the Highest Quality Kurtz fruit for him to see.

“Wh-, it’s huge!”

The red-ranked Kurtz fruits I showed him just now was at best the size of a softball.

However, the highest quality one I’ve brought out now is about the size of a basketball.

“To bring it up to this size, how much magic power do you have?”

“W-well, I seem to have a lot of magic power….”

How tough is it for ordinary people to provide magic power for Kurtz fruits, I wonder? Since I lack that knowledge, I answered him vaguely.

“I’ve never seen such a bulging Kurtz fruit. How effective would it be if I used it to make medicine…”

Claus mumbled while observing the large Kurtz fruit.

As expected, it seems that the value has jumped up greatly, just like what Appraisal-sensei taught me.

“It seems that the value of this Kurtz fruit differs from the others a lot.”

“Yes. It’s in a different league than the ones before. This fruit, just one, can easily cost 10 gold coins.”

No way, with just one fruit, my earnings can easily exceed the reward of the nominated request. It is the most expensive material that I have ever harvested.

I’m glad I picked the red-ranked ones just in case to fulfill the request.

“Then, I’ll put this one back now.”

“Wait! Let me buy it! I’ll give you 10 gold coins separately!”

Although this was not the expected outcome, there was no separate rule from the Guild that prohibited individual buying and selling.

“Okay, how many will you buy?”

“You have more than one!?”

“Yes, about ten!”

“Gnununu, I don’t have 100 gold coins…!”

Were you willing to buy everything if you had the money?

“So, what’s your order?”

“Three! Give me three of those big-sized Kurtz fruits!”

Finally, after I enquired again, Claus gave me his ultimate answer after much internal conflict.

Apparently, he seems to be able to pay an extra 30 gold coins upfront. A pharmacy is surprisingly profitable if he can cough up this much money out of a sudden.

After giving him the Kurtz fruits, Claus entered the inner room and came back with a leather pouch.

“The reward money for the nominated request plus the extra cash for the large Kurtz fruits are inside here.

I immediately checked the contents and found that it contained exactly 34 gold coins.

“I have confirmed the amount. Then, please sign here for your request.”

“Sure.”

The request is completed when the client, Claus, signs the form.

After that, on the way home, I can hand in the request form at the Guild.

It seems like my work for today is finally over.

“I will request if there are materials I want again. I will process the Kurtz fruits so you can go now.”

Cradling the Kurtz fruits within his arm, he crisply said so.

Even though he was clearly satisfied with the request, his way of speaking surely doesn’t change at all.

He’s not looking down on F-rank adventurers, but this is simply his personality.

“Oh, this is a tip, but depending on the material, you can earn more if you sell them to alchemists rather than to the Adventurer’s Guild. That applies to Kurtz fruits and Yamadokoro.”

Caus added as if he had just remembered, and disappeared into the inner room.

He probably can’t wait to process the Kurtz fruits anymore.

Even though he seems prideful judging from his way of speaking, I don’t think he’s a bad person. 

Remembering Claus’ strange kindness, I laughed lightly and left the store.


Previous | TOC | Next

One thought on “Sozai Saishu 30”

Leave a comment