Sozai Saishu 28

Chapter 28: Digging Yamadokoro

Since I finished collecting the requested amount of Kikyou flowers, I moved towards the location of my second material, Yamadokoro, and arrived at the specified lake.

The lake was quietly surrounded by trees and felt like a hidden resting spot.

As if in search of drinking water, residents of the forest like deers and swans gathered to quench their thirst.

I didn’t know that there was such a calm waterside [1] in the Eastern Forest.

After collecting the Yamadokoro, let’s have lunch here.

A bit excited, I started to search for the Yamadokoro.

I heard that it grew naturally in places with a lot of water inside the soil and that it was near this lake.

“Detection.”

I imagined it so that it properly penetrated the ground as well. While having an image of water soaking into the ground, I activated Detection.

Then, not only materials on top of but also inside the ground were displayed.

Some red-coloured materials can be seen in the ground near the shore of the lake. Similarly, I can see a few red-coloured materials underneath the earth where it is still within range.

Other than those, I can see purple-coloured materials that looked like the bones of either monsters or animals.

Therefore, the red-coloured materials in the ground must be Yamadokoro.

After confirming that there are no monsters in the vicinity by using Detection with magic stones, I approached the location where the material was displayed.

The depth was about 20 cm. The material, buried underground, was around 15 centimeters of length.

“Let’s dig here then.”

I took out a shovel I bought out of the Magic Bag and started digging.

Since the dirt contained a lot of moisture from being near to a lake, I could dig in rather easily.

And just like that, I dug down and down.

Normally, I won’t be able to see underground, but since I have Detection, I can clearly see the red outline of the material shining deep down.

Therefore, I don’t need to fumble around and I can just dig straight to where the material is.

Continuing to dig down, the material began to show its appearance.

A white material surfaced from the light brown dirt.

【Yamadokoro】

A type of root that grows inside soil with lots of moisture. It often grows underground near rivers and lakes.

Edible, but not very delicious. However, it has high medicinal effects and is used to make medicine.

It is mainly effective to promote perspiration, has antitussive properties, and since it has cooling effects, it can alleviate fever, headache, asthma, etc.

It can improve the circulation of blood and magical power, therefore, it can temporarily boost your physical abilities.

No mistake, this is a Yamadokoro.

Even so, I knew that it had medicinal effects, but to even have an effect of boosting physical ability.

No wonder why it’s a red-coloured material.

Under normal circumstances, I would start digging quickly when I see a part of the material above ground, however, Claus demanded that I must not damage it.

Therefore, it is absolutely impossible to just dig wherever and however I want, and I can’t allow even a single scratch from my shovel.

Thus, it is necessary to dig around the material with the shovel first and finally dig it out gently by hand.

Pomp, pomp. The leftover dirt was scooped out and thrown aside.

It’s kind of fun. It feels like digging for potatoes when I was a kid.

Claus was worried about having placed a troublesome order, but for me, the request today is a nostalgic reminder of the past.

Ever since I grew up, I rarely got to play with soil. I felt like I’m returning to my childhood, touching the soil with my own two hands like this.

After digging around the Yamadokoro, slowly remove the soil by hand so as not to damage it.

Using the utmost caution, I carefully brushed away the remaining soil and the Yamadokoro suddenly shook.

Maybe I can pull it out by hand now. But it’s a trap.

The Yamadokoro has a root split in the middle and looks like a fork.

In other words, it’s stuck firmly in the ground much more than I expected.

We’re at the very, very last step and it would not be funny to mess up now.

I tried my best to remove the soil by hand, gently, as if I loved the material from the bottom of my heart.

After plucking out small amounts of soil like that, I could finally pull the Yamadokoro out completely.

“Yay! I finally collected a Yamadokoro!”

A rugged root that looked like a fork. When I wiped off the dirt with my fingers, its white, delicate skin was exposed.

“What a beauty.”

Most of it is covered with the soil now, but if you wash it with water, I should see beautiful white skin just like the radish. [2]

Probably because I went to such great lengths to acquire it, the Yamadokoro I held in my hand appeared to shine for a moment.

“…..Oops, I don’t have time to be fascinated. I have to make sure that it’s not scratched and I have to remove the roots too.”

After checking the Yamadokoro from various angles, I could not see any scratches or damaged parts. So, I pulled out the fine hair that grew from the root by hand.

It felt like the process of removing unwanted hair.

“Okay, now I have to collect the rest.”

After putting it inside my Magic Bag, I started to dig again with the shovel in my hand.

“Fuu, that’s enough for Yamadokoro.”

In total, I collected 6 Yamadokoro.

Claus requested three, however, these were close to where I was digging so I picked them up.

Well, it seems that red-coloured materials are very valuable, and it’s not difficult to sell them even if Claus doesn’t want it.

My hands, after digging all those Yamadokoro, are caked with dirt. Since my work is done, I want to wash my hands.

It would be easy to go wash at the lake, but times like this are where I can practice magic.

“Water Ball.”

I imagined it to be as big as a basketball, but when I activated it, a water ball that was about two times larger than that appeared.

I still can’t control magic power delicately enough.

I’m a little worried about the Kurtz fruits that I plan to collect after this.

However, the Water Ball this time is not as enormous as my first time, I can deem it as a steady improvement.

I removed all the dirt between my nails and wiped my hands with a towel.

As if knowing that I’ve completed my tasks, my stomach grumbled out loud.

“I’ve finished my collections too, so let’s have lunch now.’

I collected Kikyou flowers and dug out Yamadokoro. I think I deserve a break.

I don’t want to cook, but I want to eat something delicious and warm.

Despite such contradictory demands, it can be made possible with a certain item.

The answer is the Magic Bag.

I moved to the shade of a tree overlooking the lake, and I inserted my hand into the Magic Bag.

What I took out was a bento. Yes, Bandel-san cooked some dishes for me with the mushrooms I handed over last time.

I must confess that I don’t know what’s inside. I wonder what kind of mushroom dishes he cooked?

Untying the cloth, a circular bento was unveiled. It looked like a large steamer. Moreover, it’s quite heavy, as if packed to the brim with food.

Feeling excited, I opened the lid and mushrooms greeted me. At first sight, I thought it was gratin, but I was wrong.

Looking carefully, it was divided into slices, and there is pie dough below.

“It’s a mushroom quiche!”

If I’m correct, this is a French dish, in which eggs, fresh cream, minced meat, vegetables, etc. are added to a pie crust, topped with cheese and baked in the oven.

I remember that my mother made it a while back. She called it ‘fashionable baked eggs’. Now, whenever I think about egg dishes, I still feel a bit doubtful.

Well, nevermind that, let’s dig into the quiche in front of me.

The quiche had already been cut into pieces and was firm enough, so I just grabbed it by hand and put it into my mouth.

Ah, the taste of sour cream, mushrooms, and bacon is a perfect match.

The characteristic scent and texture of the mushrooms are especially noticeable; it tasted deliciously chewy.

The body of the mushroom was soft, and the leg parts had a stronger aroma and were crisper.

“…….Delicious.”

A simple word quietly leaked out naturally.

It’s not a flashy taste, but it reminds me of homemade food which makes me feel relieved.

Bandel-san, you did a great job. I was correct to give my ingredients to a professional chef.

The mushroom quiche eaten while I was gazing at the lake was very delicious. Somehow, it feels really nostalgic.


Announcement

Isekai Nonbiri Sozai Saishu Seikatsu has been published as a light novel! 1st Volume went on sale on 26 August 2020 (Japan). It seems like a manga adaptation is also in the works.

Here is a link for it on Amazon JP.


Translator’s Notes

  1. 水辺 (suihen) literally translates to waterside or waterfront thus I left it as it is.
  2. 大根 (daikon) – Japanese radish.

Previous | TOC | Next

One thought on “Sozai Saishu 28”

Leave a comment