Sozai Saishu 5

Chapter 5: Ferumi Village

There are no high-rise buildings like in the city; no trains or cars running around either. The surface is not concrete, just soil. However, there are glimpses of green popping up here and there.

Both the buildings and the people are not crowded together. A tranquil atmosphere.

This may be ordinary to the people of Ferumi Village, but to myself who lived in the urban city of Japan, this scenery is quite extraordinary.

Perhaps travellers seldom come to this village, as the villagers who were conversing with each other in front of the houses and the children running around in the fields were sending inquisitive gazes this way.

For the time being, let’s wave back with a smile. The children and the villagers smiled and waved back to me.

I’m glad. This village seems to extend its gentle atmosphere even to outsiders like me.

As I strolled along, gazing at the livelihoods of the villagers, a 3-storey building appeared in my sight. It was much larger in comparison to the other houses.

The signboard had a bed drawn on it, and even though I have never seen these letters before even once in my life, I could understand that it was ‘Ferumi Village Inn’.

Now that you mention it, I was talking to Roland naturally. Turned out I could read letters too.

The support I received from God in order to come over to this world is perfect it seems.

Once I entered the inn, the first thing that entered my sight was the reception counter. To my right was a wide space where tables and chairs were lined up; it’s likely the dining hall.

I can probably have my meals here.

However, there wasn’t anyone at the reception. A bell was placed on the counter, so maybe I can ring this to call someone out.

“Are you perhaps a customer?”

When I was going to ring the bell on the counter, but a voice called out to me from behind first.

“Ah, yup, that’s right.”

“Mom, there’s a customer!”

After I responded, the little girl’s face broke out into a brilliant smile and shouted loud and clear.

And after a short while, a woman climbed down the stairs from the second floor.

It was a woman who had brown hair bundled up on her head. With the same hair colour and the same characteristic freckles, no mistaking it, they are definitely mother and daughter.

But, she looks quite young. Rather than a mother, I can’t see her as anything other than a senior university student……

Anyhow, she is probably the landlady of this inn.

“A face I’ve never seen before. Are you a traveller from outside?”

“Yes, I have just arrived in this village. I am called Shuu.”

“I am working as the landlady of this inn, my name is Anna. And this girl is my daughter, Nico.”

“I’m Nico!”

Introduced by Anna-san, Nico greeted me cheerfully.

Merely by seeing her cheerful smile, the fatigue which that has been built up from walking all the way here seems to be cured.

“Do you have any available rooms?”

“Sure, of course they’re available. If you ask why, it’s because we’re a village out in the sticks after all. Customers rarely come by.”

Anna-san said so while smiling humorously.

Since she said so in a really light-hearted manner, that self-mocking joke is strangely not gloomy to hear.

“Alright then, I want to stay here. How much does it cost per night? Are 5 silver coins enough?”

All I have on me right now are 5 silver coins. I don’t know how much this is worth based on this world’s standards, but God prepared this for me as the absolute minimum. I can probably stay for at least 3 nights with this much.

“If you have that much then you can stay for 10 nights. We charge 4 bronze coins per night, and if you pay 1 more, you get breakfast and dinner too.”

I see. It’s 5 bronze coins with food included. Yup, I don’t know how much bronze coins are worth so I can’t judge anything.

“…..excuse me, since I came from a really faraway place, I don’t totally understand the value of your currency. Can I possibly ask you to teach me about it?”

“What kind of place did you come from exactly? You’re even speaking in a uselessly polite way too. Are you possibly a noble?”

“No, I am not…”

Even if I told her I came from another world, she wouldn’t believe me anyway, so I smiled bitterly. Anna-san then sighed and lined up all the coins to explain to me.

She is unexpectedly very kind.

As I listened to her explanation, I understood the values of this world’s currency. A copper coin is 10 yen. A bronze coin is 100 yen. A silver coin is 1,000 yen. A gold coin is 10,000 yen. A platinum coin is 100,000 yen. 10 copper coins are equal to 1 bronze coin, that kind of system.

“Then, I’d like a room for 10 nights with meals included.”

I need time to find out all sorts of information and to understand more about my skills.

First off, let’s stay for 10 nights and if that’s not enough, I can just sell the materials I’ve collected and extend my stay.

I have materials that I collected up to this point. If I can sell those somewhere then I can turn them into money.

Whilst I was thinking about that, I took out 5 bronze coins from my Magic Bag.

Anna-san then retrieved the coins, putting them into her apron.

“Nico, guide the customer please.”

“Yes ma’am! Shuu-san, follow me~”

Following closely after Nico who received the key from Anna-san, I climbed the stairs up to the second floor.

Arriving at the first room I can see, Nico inserted the key and opened the room for me.

Once I entered, I could see a table, chairs, a bed, and other basic furniture inside.

However, there was a lot of space and was surprisingly wide.

It’s wider than the single apartment I used to live in back in my previous world.

“This is Shuu-san’s room! Since there is no one else, we gave you the widest room!”

“Thanks, I can rest at ease in this room so I’m grateful.”

“We provide meals twice, once in the morning and once in the evening. You can also request for lunch at a separate fee. Do you have any questions?”

“Ah, do you have a bath here?”

As a Japanese, this is a matter of great importance. Whether there is a bath or not will greatly influence my mental condition.

“Ahaha, as if there would be a bathtub in this kind of place. If you want to clean up, I can bring you some hot water and a towel for the cost of 1 copper coin.”

Hearing that from Nico, I hung down my head with heartache.

I had a slight hunch but it seems like this place really has no bathtubs.

However, I can’t throw away all hope just yet. I desperately grasped at straws while I asked Nico one more question.

“I-is there a public bath nearby?”

“Nope.”

I felt myself crumble down from Nico’s merciless answer.

Ahh, so that’s the case. There are no baths around here.

“Ah, but, if you go to a large town or the capital, you can find public baths there.”

“Ohh! Really!?”

“Y-yup. Shuu-san, you seem to really love baths. That’s kinda weird.”

Uh-oh. Maybe I was too frantic since Nico drew back from me slightly.

But it can’t be helped. I mean, I am a bath-loving Japanese after all.

Of course, even in a different world, I still want to enter a bath and relax leisurely.

After interrogating Nico about all the details I wanted about baths, she informed me of the important points I should know while staying here.

Firstly, it’s obvious but do not break things. Secondly, someone will come to change the bed sheets before noon. Since there weren’t any weird rules amongst those, I simply nodded.

“Okay, that completes my explanation! Do you have any more questions?”

“Ah, I have some materials I picked up from the forest. Is there any store in this village that will buy them for me?”

I was referring to the various materials I have on hand that I picked up along the way to Ferumi Village. I think I can sell a few of these and earn some cash. It would be great if I can get a good price too.

“In that case, there is a general store nearby that will accept your goods. If you want, shall I guide you there?”

“Thank you. I do want to say ‘let’s go now’ but is it fine to rest a bit first? I am quite tired….”

Having evaded monsters all the way, searching for my first human settlement, I felt immensely relieved over being able to stay in a safe place. The exhaustion is, unfortunately, quickly catching up to me.

Rather than going to sell my materials at the general store, I want to throw myself onto the bed in front of my eyes.

“Understood. I’ll be here at the inn so give me a holler when you want to go, alright? It’s a promise!”

Nico turned back to make sure I remember before leaving the room.

Based on that sentence, it seemed like she wanted to tag along with me to the general store.

Well, she will probably use guiding me as an excuse to skip out on the inn’s chores.

“I got it. I’ll call you for sure.”

“Well then, see ya later!”

Since I responded positively, Nico finally closed the door happily with a grin.


Previous | TOC | Next

7 thoughts on “Sozai Saishu 5”

  1. Hey peach knight, maybe do you need proofreader? I will do it for free. It’s for gaining experience and want to contribute in your translation. Please consider and mail me back

    Like

  2. My english is not that good itself, but i feel uncomfortable for that ‘Hostess’ word. I feel that Landlord or Landlady would do.
    ‘Hostess’ is the word that i find frequently in certain pub, or for some high-class broth3l,
    CMIIW!

    Like

    1. Thanks for the suggestions! I checked and the original Japanese word can mean both of them so I’ve fixed the chapter.

      Like

  3. Where did he get the 5 bronze coins? He should only have 5 silver! How did 5 silver equals 10 days turn into 5 bronze equaling 10 days!!! What is going on?

    Like

Leave a comment