Sozai Saishu 2

Chapter 2 : Inside a Forest

“Nn, nn………”

Feeling the sunlight, I opened my eyes.

It seemed like I was out flat while lying down on my back.

When I tried looking up, I saw the canopy of trees overhead. The warm, gentle sunlight filtering through the shades shined directly on me.

As I got up, right in front of me was a small stream flowing.

This location is probably the shore of a stream inside some forest.

By the way, my body is really light. I almost can’t believe that it’s my own body.

When I became an adult and started working, even if I slept for an entire day, my tiredness wouldn’t go away completely. That’s why, with this body, I feel so refreshed and light right now.

It feels as though I reverted back to my teenage years.

God did say that he would reconstruct my body completely from scratch. Perhaps, he fixed the parts that were in bad condition for me as well?

Being in a great mood over my newly light body, I thought of washing my face so I peered into the water’ surface.

What reflected back to me was a black-haired, blue-eyed boy, with a face I think I’ve seen somewhere before.

I reeled back in shock, whipping my head behind my shoulders. However, there was no one behind me.

I timidly returned my gaze onto the surface of the water, and the boy’s actions were the same as mine.

“Did I revert back to high school ! ?”

Before I died, I was 26 years old. But, however I look at the young man reflected on the water’ surface, he must be at the age around high school years ―― actually, it’s my face from back then.

Did God lower my age to make it easier for me to live in this world?

When my age slowly crept towards the latter half of my twenties, ahh, how I wished to be able to go back to my high school years. I am very glad about this considerate action of his.

No wonder why my body is so light. The body I have right now is the same as my golden age.

Appearance is that of a high-schooler, but the intellect is that of an adult; that’s the setting huh?

“But, why the blue eyes though?”

Blue pupils are faintly projected on the gently waving surface of the stream. Maybe it’s an aftereffect of God pouring his magic power into me, I guess?

 God himself had the same perfectly clear blue eyes as well, so maybe it really is because of that.

Well, nevermind that. The colour of my eyes is a trivial issue.

Deciding to pay it no mind, I reached out to scoop up some water from the stream.

But wait, I just realized. Is this water safe to drink?

The water is really clear so I think it’s safe but I am still a bit worried.

【Water from the stream】

Water from the stream flowing near the area of Ferumi Village. Excellent water quality.

While I was gazing at the stream and questioning the water quality, suddenly the above lines of text popped into my sight.

This is information about the water?

God did say that he will give me some powers, is this an effect of it operating?

First off, the result is I get to know that the water is perfectly pure.

In this situation where I lack information, there is probably no choice left but to rely on this ability for now.

I washed my face with the stream’s water, and then put one mouthful into my mouth.

There is no bad smell or any discomfort in particular. As I thought, the data provided by this ability is correct – the water quality here is excellent.

Since I am now sure that it’s safe, I swallow down the water.

And then, it went down my throat without any problems.

“Delicious!”

The taste of this water was so excellent to the point that I have never encountered such deliciousness even back in Japan.

What a wonderfully refreshing taste.

Since it tasted so good, I kept downing gulps of water.

The first important requirement for humans is water. Maybe God understood that fact so he transferred me near a water source.

I calmed down after moistening my throat. First off, let’s confirm our situation.


I was wearing a black shirt with a heavy black coat with golden embroidery on the sleeves and collar on top. For my legs, once again, I had on black trousers. Then for my feet, I had a pair of light brown boots, made of some kind of leather, on.

I also have a side bag hanging across my shoulders.

The above completes my entire clothing and equipment.

Somehow I’m wearing a lot of black but with the golden embroidered coat and the brown bag and boots, I’m not giving an entirely black impression.

Unexpectedly, maybe God has a great fashion sense?

But really, since I was sent into another world, I would really appreciate having small tools like a knife or something equally useful.

Do I have anything like that in my bag?

【Rope, net, pickaxe, gloves, wooden box, knife, glass bottle, food rations, water bag, iron sword, Elementary Magic Manual, 5 silver coins, a letter from God】

After I opened the fastener and inserted my hand into the bag, this information somehow entered my mind mysteriously.

Oh, what the heck is this? Actually, my hand is not hitting the bottom of the bag and continues to go down.

It’s reached my elbow even. No matter how I look at it, that definitely exceeded the length of the bag.

There’s a lot of things I still don’t understand, but the first hint I should investigate is the letter from God right?

Indicating in my mind that I want the letter, I opened the bag and pulled it out successfully.

Maybe this bag is similar to the ‘Item Box’ or ‘Magic Bag’ in games.

As I was pondering such things, I opened the letter I received from God.

Written on the paper was information about the abilities and tools he gave me.

【Magic Bag】

A bag that you can put in things. Time is stopped inside the bag therefore the materials or stuff you collected will not deteriorate. However, you cannot put in living things or humans. The minimum level of items required for survival is already prepared inside this bag. If you want more items or those of higher quality, you should travel to a town and craft or buy them.

I see. As I thought, this really is a Magic Bag.

Certainly, it would be troublesome to carry the materials I harvest by hand.

Maybe God investigated the game I was playing and granted me an item that would help with collecting raw materials?

With this, I can collect materials without caring about any luggage limitations.

Next, what comes to mind would be the ‘minimum level of items required for survival’ he mentioned.

In particular, except for the water bags, a sword for self-protection, and other tools for material collection, he also included things I would need to survive. I feel really grateful for this.

Just when I was thinking that my luggage was in such a sad state, God’s consideration was perfect and prepared things for me already.

【Detection】

By firing one’s magic power outward in waves, you can detect raw materials. It is a technique required to efficiently collect raw materials.

With increased proficiency, the detection range will also expand. A Unique Skill.

【Appraisal】

Allows you to know the details of raw materials and etc. If you want even more details about something, keep that object in your sight and think about what in particular you want to know.

What was written after that were the details of the abilities given to me by God.

Firstly, the skill called ‘Detection’ uses waves of magic power to detect raw materials so they can be discovered more efficiently. 

It’s a Unique Skill, so if I were to guess then God probably created it in order to grant me my wish.

Secondly, the ‘Appraisal’ skill was mentioned next.

It probably seems that the power which informed me about the stream’s water quality was this skill.

If I use this skill, I will find out what kind of raw material something is in one look.

To me who absolutely lacks common knowledge in this world, I am extremely grateful for having this skill.

I can now find out the name of raw materials, what it is, it’s worth, if it’s poisoned, if it’s edible or not, and etc.

With my Magic Bag and these two skills, it seems that I will be able to make a living collecting raw materials in this world.


Previous | TOC | Next

4 thoughts on “Sozai Saishu 2”

  1. “I had a pair of light brown boots made of some kind of leather on.” brown boots, made of some kind of leather, on.
    “Maybe God investigated the play I was playing” investigated the game I was playing

    Just a few minor mistakes again. Keep up the good work!

    Like

Leave a comment